hide logo

PUBLICATION

Bilder verteilen
(Distributing Pictures)

Winfried Gerling / Susanne Holschbach / Petra Löffler

Digital photographs are omnipresent: they are produced, distributed, commented on and stored billions of times every day. In interaction with digital technologies and social networks, practices have emerged that have radically changed the production and reception, distribution and archiving of photographic images. They are distributed, ordered and evaluated by their prosumers as well as by machines, software and algorithms.


PUBLICATION

"So etwas Ähnliches wie die Wahrheit"
("Something Like the Truth")

Jesko Jockenhövel, Michael Wedel (eds.)

An amalgamation of various analytical and biographical approaches to the work of Thomas Harlan, which transcended genre and radically undermined the conventions of depiction.


PUBLIKATION

Machtzeichen
(Signs of Power)

Jan Distelmeyer

Computers, in the present day, are linked in a fundamental sense, with demands for regulation and questions of availability – with the desire for and the fear of control. What forms of availability are these? What is the relationship between the computer's forms of manifestation and its conditions?


PUBLICATION

Pathenheimer: Filmfotografin
(Pathenheimer: Film photographer)

Dieter Chill - Anna Luise Kiss (eds.)

When GDR feature films are shown nowadays in the cinema, on television or in retrospectives, and advertised with photos, one keeps on encountering the credit “DEFA-Pathenheimer.” The body of work behind this identification of authorship includes stills and production stills to many of the most well-known films by the most prominent directors and cinematographers of the feature film studios of the time.


PUBLICATION

Terror und Propaganda
(Terror and Propaganda)

Christer Petersen

How can discourses about politically motivated violence be analysed? Christer Petersen presents a perspective for the investigation of the relationship between political terror and the propaganda of its mass-media dissemination. He develops a formal discourse analysis which enables the precise description of media studies objects through an applied logic...


PUBLICATION

Crux Scenica

Heiko Christians

Various sciences and arts have long been working with the term and technique of the scene – the theatre as much as film, psychoanalysis as much as sociology. But what lies behind this (universal) term and what does it accomplish? How does the theatre-related form of the scene organise our ideas, perceptions, entertainments, professional language or art works, both linguistically and technically, to the present day?...


PUBLICATION

Klassiker des polnischen Films
(Classics of the Polish film)

Christer Petersen, Christian Kampkötter, Peter Klimczak

In this first series of German-language publications about Eastern European film, each volume is devoted to a country, highlighting both individual and representative examples of the most prominent film classics...


PUBLICATION

Special Effects in der Wahrnehmung des Publikums
(Special effects in the public's perception)

Michael Wedel (ed.)

The discussion in film and media studies on the subject of special effects has to date been dominated by questions of production methods and technical feasibility. In the framework of an approach to the phenomenon so centred on its technical and production aspects, the understanding of the cultural significance of special effects in film, television and the digital entertainment media remains reduced to the level of the industrially possible conditions for aesthetic experience...

PUBLIKATION

"So etwas Ähnliches wie die Wahrheit"

Jesko Jockenhövel, Michael Wedel (Hg.)

Zusammenführung unterschiedlicher analytischer und biografischer Herangehensweisen an das Gattungsgrenzen überschreitende und Darstellungskonventionen radikal unterminierende Schaffen Thomas Harlans.


PUBLIKATION

Machtzeichen

Jan Distelmeyer

Die Gegenwart des Computers ist grundsätzlich mit Regulierungsansprüchen und Fragen der Verfügung verbunden – mit dem Wunsch nach und der Angst vor Kontrolle. Was sind das für Formen des Verfügens? In welchem Verhältnis stehen Erscheinungsformen und Bedingungen des Computers?


PUBLIKATION

Pathenheimer: Filmfotografin

Dieter Chill - Anna Luise Kiss
(Hg.)

Wenn heute Spielfilme aus der DDR im Kino, Fernsehen oder in Retrospektiven gezeigt und mit Fotos beworben werden, stößt man immer wieder auf das Signum DEFA-Pathenheimer. Das hinter dieser Urheberkennung stehende Œuvre enthält Szenen- und Werkfotos zu zahlreichen bekannten Filmen der profiliertesten Regisseure und Kameraleute des damaligen Studios für Spielfilme.


PUBLIKATION

Terror und Propaganda

Christer Petersen

Wie lassen sich Diskurse über politisch motivierte Gewalt analysieren? Christer Petersen stellt eine Perspektive zur Untersuchung des Zusammenhangs von politischem Terror und der Propaganda seiner massenmedialen Verbreitung vor. Er entwickelt eine formale Diskursanalyse, die es ermöglicht, medienwissenschaftliche Objekte mittels einer angewandten Logik möglichst exakt zu beschreiben. ...


PUBLIKATION

Crux Scenica

Heiko Christians

Verschiedene Wissenschaften und Künste arbeiten seit langem mit Begriff und Technik der Szene – das Theater ebenso wie der Film, die Psychoanalyse ebenso wie die Soziologie. Aber was steckt hinter diesem (Allerwelts-)Begriff, und was leistet er? Wie organisiert die theateraffine Form der Szene bis heute sprachlich und technisch unsere Vorstellungen, Wahrnehmungen, Unterhaltungen, Fachsprachen oder Kunstwerke? ...


PUBLIKATION

Klassiker des polnischen Films

Christer Petersen, Christian Kampkötter, Peter Klimczak

In dieser ersten deutschsprachigen Publikationsreihe zum osteuropäischen Film ist jedem Land ein Band gewidmet, welcher sowohl das Individuelle als auch das Repräsentative der bedeutendsten Filmklassiker herausstellt ...


PUBLIKATION

Special Effects in der Wahrnehmung des Publikums

Michael Wedel (Hrsg.)

Die film- und medienwissenschaftliche Diskussion zum Thema Special Effects wird bisher von Fragen nach der Produktionsweise und technischen Realisierbarkeit dominiert. Im Rahmen einer derart technik- und produktionszentrierten Herangehensweise an das Phänomen bleibt das Verständnis der kulturellen Bedeutung von Special Effects in Film, Fernsehen und digitalen Unterhaltungsmedien auf die Ebene der industriellen Möglichkeitsbedingungen ästhetischer Erfahrung reduziert. ...