hide logo

»You must become a caligari (again)!« – New Views of a well-known classic


It is regarded as a milestone in expressionist film and a key work in the cinema of the young Weimar Republic. For decades he has appeared regularly in "Top 10" and "Best Of" lists all over the world. His place in the canon of German (game) film history is undisputed. Until recently, however, Dr. Caligari's Cabinet was subject to a distorted perception that had serious effects on the understanding and interpretation of the film: As a result of the legendary status the film received, the true story of its creation has been lost over the years in an ever denser web of myths. In addition, despite some notable restoration efforts in the 1980s and 1990s, the film was for a long time only seen in copies and versions that were at best a pale reflection of its original splendour. It was not until 2014 that a version could be produced which, thanks to improved material conditions, up-to-date knowledge from interdisciplinary research projects and state-of-the-art digital technology, comes as close as possible to the form and brilliance of the original film.

On Thursday, February 8, 2018, film restorer Anke Wilkening and film historian Dr. Olaf Brill presented at the ZeM their complementary works from recent years, which differ in approach and goal, and have made a significant contribution to seeing Dr. Caligari's Cabinet and its history in a new light.

Following the lectures, the 2014 digitally restored version of Dr. Caligari's Cabinet with live music accompaniment was shown at 7 pm in the Filmmuseum Potsdam.
The event took place as a cooperation of the Film University Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF (Master's Degree Film Cultural Heritage) with the HTW University of applied science Berlin and was sponsored by ZeM.

barrierefreie Ansicht

»Du musst Caligari (wieder) werden!« – Neue Blicke auf einen bekannten Klassiker


Er gilt als Meilenstein des expressionistischen Films und als Schlüsselwerk des Kinos der jungen Weimarer Republik. Seit Jahrzehnten taucht er regelmäßig in »Top 10«- und »Best Of«-Listen in aller Welt auf. Sein Platz im Kanon der deutschen (Spiel)filmgeschichte ist unumstritten. Jedoch unterlag Das Cabinet des Dr. Caligari bis vor kurzer Zeit einer verzerrten Wahrnehmung, die gravierende Auswirkungen auf das Verständnis und Interpretation des Films hatte: Infolge des legendären Status, den der Film verliehen bekam, ist die wahre Geschichte seiner Entstehung über die Jahre in einem immer dichteren Spinnennetz von Mythen verloren gegangen. Außerdem war der Film – trotz einiger beachtenswerter Restaurierungsanläufe in den 1980er und 1990er Jahren – lange Zeit nur in Kopien und Versionen zu sehen, die bestenfalls ein blasser Abglanz seiner ursprünglichen Pracht waren. Erst 2014 konnte eine Fassung bewerkstelligt werden, die dank verbesserter Materiallage, aktueller Kenntnisse aus interdisziplinären Forschungsprojekten und modernster digitaler Technik der Gestalt und Brillanz des Originalfilms möglichst nahe kommt.

Am Donnerstag, den 8. Februar 2018 stellten im ZeM die Filmrestauratorin Anke Wilkening und der Filmhistoriker Dr. Olaf Brill ihre in Herangehensweise und Ziel unterschiedlichen, jedoch komplementären Arbeiten aus den letzten Jahren vor, die wesentlich dazu beigetragen haben, den Film Das Cabinet des Dr. Caligari und seine Geschichte in neuem Licht sehen zu können.

Im Anschluss an die Vorträge wurde um 19 Uhr im Filmmuseum Potsdam die 2014 digital restaurierte Fassung von Das Cabinet des Dr. Caligari mit Livemusikbegleitung gezeigt.
Die Veranstaltung fand als Kooperation der Filmuniversität Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF (Masterstudiengang Filmkulturerbe) mit der Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft Berlin statt und wurde vom ZeM gefördert.