hide logo
WT2018/19ST2018WT2017/18ST2017WT2016/17ST2016WT2015/16ST2015WT2014/15



October 2018
MoTuWeThFrSaSu
01020304050607
08091011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
29303101020304
November 2018
MoTuWeThFrSaSu
29303101020304
05060708091011
12131415161718
19202122232425
26272829300102
December 2018
MoTuWeThFrSaSu
26272829300102
03040506070809
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31010203040506
January 2019
MoTuWeThFrSaSu
31010203040506
07080910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031010203


Winter Term 2018/19


vergangene Veranstaltungen einblenden

WORKSHOP

Sergej Eisenstein and the Game of Objects

11/22 – 24

location
ZeM – Brandenburg Centre for Mediastudies
Hermann-Elflein-Straße 18
14467 Potsdam


In the year which marks both the 120th anniversary of Sergej Eisenstein’s birth and the 70th anniversary of his death, the Brandenburg Centre for Media Studies (ZeM) and the DFG research group “Cinepoetics – Poetologien audiovisueller Bilder” are jointly organising a workshop that will take place in Potsdam from the 22th to 24th November 2018.

Eisenstein's essay “On the Game of Objects” [ИГРА ПРЕДМЕТОВ] (1925) serves as the thematic point of departure for the workshop: In his text, Eisenstein outlines the idea of transferring the task of emotionally arousing the audience from the actor to “inanimate objects” in order to achieve a “play of objects” and in turn a “purely cinematic process”; one which “is not accessible to the form of theatre which does not go beyond the play with objects”. This process is synonymous with the step from an “enthusiasm for objects” for their own sake to the cinematic modelling of the figurative as “attraction material” for the purpose of generating affect. Following Eisenstein’s reflections, the workshop will deal with the function of inanimate objects in his films and determine their significance in Eisenstein’s thinking compared to other theoretical models of the 1920s and 1930s (Balázs, Dulac, Eisenstein, Epstein, Moholy-Nagy, Vertov, etc.).

The workshop has arisen as a result of the project “Eisenstein's House”, in which Eisenstein’s objects also play a central role: Following Eisenstein’s death, his widow Pera Atasheva rescued the filmmaker’s estate from his apartment before Stalin could confiscate it. By roundabout means, she managed to locate most of her deceased husband’s property in a tiny three-room apartment in central Moscow, where she attempted to reconstruct the original arrangement of the items before they had been removed from their previous location, Eisenstein’s last apartment. Thus the “Eisenstein Cabinet” was created; a home to, among other things, Eisenstein’s library, his manuscripts and writings on films, memorabilia from film shoots, his collection of toy figurines and numerous autographs.

Over the decades, Naum Kleiman has turned the apartment into a centre for research and exchange on Eisenstein. However, the apartment is now to be abandoned following the politically motivated dismantling of the Moscow Film Museum, of which the Eisenstein Cabinet was officially a part. The new museum management plans to transfer the objects from the Cabinet to the new building of the Moscow museum, currently still under construction. The future of the collection remains unclear.

In January 2018, a group of scholars, filmmakers and IT specialists led by Naum Kleiman and Tatiana Brandrup undertook a means to compensate for the impending loss of this lively hub for Eisenstein-related research and artistic reflection by developing an internationally oriented online platform. As had been the case with the Eisenstein Cabinet, Eisenstein’s apartment is going to be reconstructed; this time virtually. The platform shall serve as a tool for research; a means of visualizing the connection between Eisenstein’s artistic and theoretical thoughtpatterns, among other things. A virtual library and media library, blog and online journal will provide access to the current state of the art of Eisenstein-related research. Most of all, however, visitors will be able to experience the world of Sergei Eisenstein through objects from his estate. The project presentation will focus on a series of preliminary narratives from the platform, which revolve around the first International Congress of Independent Film in La Sarraz, Switzerland, in 1929.

If you have any questions concerning the workshop, please contact Ms. Kiss by email at the following address:
a.kiss@filmuniversitaet.de


ORGANIZERS

Anna Luise Kiss (Film University Babelsberg / ZeM)
Naum Kleiman (Eisenstein Foundation, Moscow)
Thomas Schick (Film University Babelsberg / ZeM)
Michael Wedel (Film University Babelsberg / ZeM / Cinepoetics).

barrierefreie Ansicht
WS2018/19SS2018WS2017/18SS2017WS2016/17SS2016WS2015/16SS2015WS2014/15



Oktober 2018
MoDiMiDoFrSaSo
01020304050607
08091011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
29303101020304
November 2018
MoDiMiDoFrSaSo
29303101020304
05060708091011
12131415161718
19202122232425
26272829300102
Dezember 2018
MoDiMiDoFrSaSo
26272829300102
03040506070809
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31010203040506
Januar 2019
MoDiMiDoFrSaSo
31010203040506
07080910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031010203


Wintersemester 2018/19


vergangene Veranstaltungen einblenden

WORKSHOP

Sergej Eisenstein und das Spiel der Gegenstände

22. – 24.11.

Ort
ZeM – Brandenburgisches Zentrum für Medienwissenschaften
Hermann-Elflein-Straße 18
14467 Potsdam



Anlässlich des 120. Geburtstags und 70. Todestages von Sergej Eisenstein organisieren das Brandenburgische Zentrum für Medienwissenschaften (ZeM) und die DFG Kolleg-Forschergruppe “Cinepoetics – Poetologien audiovisueller Bilder” einen Workshop, der vom 22. bis 24. November 2018 in Potsdam stattfinden wird.

Thematischer Ausgangspunkt des Workshops wird Eisensteins Text "Über das Spiel der Gegenstände" (1925) sein: Eisenstein skizziert darin sein Vorhaben, die Aufgabe der Emotionalisierung des Publikums vom Schauspieler auf "unbelebte Gegenstände" zu übertragen, um zu einem "Spiel der Gegenstände" und damit zu einem "rein filmischen Verfahren" zu gelangen, wie es "dem über ein Spiel mit Gegenständen nicht hinausgehenden Theater nicht zugänglich ist". Es sei gleichbedeutend mit dem Schritt von einem "Enthusiasmus für Gegenstände" um ihrer selbst willen hin zur filmischen Modellierung des Gegenständlichen als „Attraktionsmaterial" zum Zweck der Affekterzeugung. Im Anschluss an Eisensteins Überlegungen will sich der Workshop mit der Funktion unbelebter Gegenstände in seinen Filmen befassen und ihren Stellenwert in Eisensteins Denken im Abgleich mit anderen theoretischen Modellen der 1920er und 1930er Jahre (Balázs, Dulac, Eisenstein, Epstein, Moholy-Nagy, Vertov u.a.) näher bestimmen.

Anlass für den Workshop ist das Projekt "Eisensteins Haus", in dem ebenfalls die Gegenstände Eisensteins eine zentrale Rolle spielen: Nach dem Tod Eisensteins rettete seine Witwe Pera Atasheva seinen Nachlass aus der Wohnung vor dem Zugriff Stalins. Über Umwege brachte sie den größten Teil von Eisensteins Besitz in ein winziges 3-Zimmer-Apartment im Zentrum Moskaus. Dort versuchte sie, die Einrichtung von Eisensteins letzter Wohnung zu rekonstruieren. Das auf diese Weise entstandene "Eisenstein-Kabinett" beherbergte u.a. Eisensteins Bibliothek, seine Manuskripte und Niederschriften zu Filmen, Erinnerungsstücke von Dreharbeiten, seine Spielfiguren-Sammlung sowie zahlreiche Autographen.

Naum Kleiman hat über Jahrzehnte hinweg aus der Wohnung ein Zentrum des Austausches und der Forschung über Eisenstein gemacht. Im Zuge der politisch bedingten Demontage des Moskauer Filmmuseums, zu dem das Eisenstein-Kabinett offiziell gehört, wird die Wohnung derzeit aufgelöst. Von Seiten der neuen Museumsleitung ist eine Überführung in ein noch unfertiges Moskauer Museumsgebäude geplant. Die Zukunft der Bestände ist unklar.

Eine Gruppe von WissenschaftlerInnen, FilmemacherInnen und IT-SpezialistInen hat im Januar 2018 unter Leitung von Naum Kleiman und Tatiana Brandrup damit begonnen, den drohenden Verlust dieses lebendigen Ortes der Eisenstein-Forschung und künstlerischen Reflexion durch die Entwicklung einer international ausgerichteten Online-Plattform zu kompensieren. Wie im Eisenstein-Kabinett soll eine Rekonstruktion seiner Wohnung erfolgen. Die Plattform soll ein Instrument der Forschung sein – u.a. ein Mittel zur Visualisierung der Verbindung künstlerischer und theoretischer Denkmuster Eisensteins. Über eine virtuelle Biblio- und Mediathek, einen Blog und ein Online-Journal sollen Zugänge zum aktuellen Stand der Forschung ermöglicht werden. Vor allem aber sollen die BesucherInnen am Beispiel einzelner Gegenstände aus seinem Nachlass anschaulich mit der Welt Sergei Eisensteins bekannt gemacht werden. Der Schwerpunkt der Projektpräsentation wird auf einem ersten Erzählstrang der Plattform liegen, der vom ersten Internationalen Kongress des Unabhängigen Films, 1929 im schweizerischen La Sarraz erzählen wird.

Für Rückfragen zum Workshop steht Ihnen Frau Kiss gern zur Verfügung: a.kiss@filmuniversitaet.de

ORGANISATIONSTEAM

Anna Luise Kiss (Filmuniversität Babelsberg / ZeM),
Naum Kleiman (Eisenstein Foundation, Moskau),
Thomas Schick (Filmuniversität Babelsberg / ZeM) und
Michael Wedel (Filmuniversität Babelsberg / ZeM / Cinepoetics).